Why Are The First Ten Days After Being Charged With A DUI So Important?

If you are stopped in the Tampa Bay area (or anywhere in Florida) for DUI, you will be asked to take a breath test to determine the concentration of alcohol in your lungs (and, allegedly by direct correlation, your blood). If you refuse to take the test or if your BAC tests .08% or higher, your driver's license will be suspended according to Florida law.

After you are arrested for DUI in Florida, you have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). If no hearing is requested within 10 days, your license will be suspended for one year after your first refusal. A second refusal could result in suspension for up to 18 months. If your breath test reached .08% or higher, your driver's license will be suspended for a period of six months.

Begin Defending Your Rights Now

At Brunvand Wise, P.A., we can help you request that hearing as well as begin building a strong defense against the DUI charges for you. We have more than 40 years of combined experience to build the highly effective cases people deserve to help them fight DUI charges. Once an administrative hearing has been requested, it will be held within 30 days of the request. This will be your only opportunity to get your license back without the suspension.

Our attorneys can also assist you in obtaining hardship or business purposes licensing during your suspension in the event that the suspension is not dismissed.

Protect Your Driver's License With Immediate Action

When you are facing DUI charges, turn to Brunvand Wise, P.A., for help understanding all aspects of the charges against you and securing a strong defense. To schedule a free initial consultation, call 727-446-7505 or contact us online.