People say that fentanyl is one of the most dangerous drugs on the market today. It is one of the leading causes of addiction and overdose.
In recent years, many law enforcement agencies have been cracking down on fentanyl. If the police arrest you in possession of fentanyl, here is what can happen.
Simple possession of fentanyl is a third-degree felony in Florida. Although ultimately it is up to the judge, they could sentence you to five years in prison. Along with the five years in prison, you can get up to five years probation and a hefty $5,000 fine. The courts often give the maximum penalties for possession of fentanyl because the drug is so dangerous. The court can also take your driver’s license away for six months.
If you have a substance that is more than four grams, even if the total fentanyl in it is less than that, it is trafficking. Florida is a minimum penalty state when it comes to fentanyl trafficking. This means that no matter what, you could get the mandatory minimum sentence.
- Four grams or more – three years in prison / $50,000 fine
- 14 grams or more – 15 years in prison / $100,000 fine
- 28 grams or more – 25 years in prison / $500,000 fine
These are the thresholds for fentanyl trafficking. In Florida, the State Attorney can waive the mandatory minimum. In this case, the judge has another set of sentencing requirements.
Since fentanyl possession and trafficking are on the rise, the State of Florida takes sentencing very seriously.